Wednesday, September 5, 2012
Easton votes in Primary election on Sept. 6

Easton — Town Clerk Jeremy Gillis predicts 13 percent of registered voters will turnout at the polls on Primary Day, Sept. 6, based on the absentee ballots cast so far and to support two Easton residents running for state office.

Polling stations are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. All precincts vote at Oliver Ames High School on Lothrop Street. For more information, please visit the Town Clerk’s page or call (508) 230 – 0530.

Two Easton residents are vying for the 11th Plymouth District state representative seat being vacated by Rep. Geraldine Creedon. The Brockton Democrat is retiring after 18 years in the Statehouse.

Democratic voters in Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 will choose between Claire Cronin of Easton and three Brockton candidates, Mark Linde, Jass Stewart and Robert Sullivan.

Easton Selectman Dan Murphy is running unopposed on the Republican ticket in the same district.

Gillis said the redistricting gives Easton and Brockton equal representation in the 11th Plymouth District.

State Rep. Shaunna O’Connell, R-Taunton, is seeking re-election in the 3rd Bristol District, representing Easton Precinct 6. Democratic candidate Sherry Costa-Hanlon of Taunton is challenging her.

State Sen. Brian Joyce, D-Milton, is running unopposed in the Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth District, representing Easton Precincts 3, 4, 5, and 6.

State Sen. Thomas Kennedy, D-Brockton, is running unopposed in the Second Plymouth and Bristol District, representing voter in Precincts 1 and 2.

Six political hopefuls are seeking to fill Congressman Barney Frank’s seat when he retires at the end of his term this year.

On the Democratic Party Primary ballot, the candidates include Joseph P. Kennedy III, Rachel E. Brown and Herb Robinson.

The Republican Party lineup includes Sean Bielat, who lost to Frank in 2010, Elizabeth Childs and David L. Steinhof.

Running for the U.S. Senate seat once held by the late Edward Kennedy are Republican Sen. Scott Brown and his Democrat challenger Elizabeth Warren.